Cafe de Klos – Amsterdam

I bestow on ye the rib of wonders!

giphy

What’s the dealio? A meat fest of riiiiibs *said in a low growl voice, you know the one*. You could very easily walk past this place. I beg of you to stop, take a seat and think about what crime you very nearly just committed. Then swiftly order the ‘plain’ ribs. ‘Plain?’ I hear you question. Yes, plain. Trust me.

Cafe de Klos Ribs

The ‘plain’ hubba-hubba ribs are the ones on the left, the mediocre smoked ribs are the pinker ones underneath. Do not be fooled by the word ‘plain’.

What to say when someone tells you that Disney films are just for kids? Think again. That is exactly what the waiter told me to do when I ordered the smoked ribs. Let’s just say, I’m glad he did. I bow down to Oh Knowledgeable Waiter. He insisted that I order the plain ribs, and he very kindly put one smoked rib on my plate for me to try too. What a cutie. Let’s just say the ‘plain’ ribs blew the smoked rib right out of Amsterdam, never mind Vondelpark. They are anything but ‘plain’ and have a dayyyym fine flavoured rub on them.  Just delicious. All hail, Oh Knowledgeable Waiter!

giphy1

What’s the buzz? We sat outside, but inside there is an open kitchen where you can look in and see the barbecuing chefs in full action. No sweaty six packs in the flaming heat on show sadly.

Who’s with me?: Meat-lovers. Very casual – don’t put your glad-rags on. No veggies allowed.

Food baby: In long labour as now in a rib coma and too meat-fueled to push.

Starfish position: Collapsed on bed, fully clothed.

RP Tip: Beat the queue by going for a late lunch at 4pm as soon as it opens. I enjoyed the food, but maybe not if I’d waited two hours for it… 

Oh Knowledgeable Waiter Tip: Do not be fooled by the ‘plain’ ribs. An understatement if ever I’ve seen one. I have no idea what their unique flavour is, maybe garam masala or turmeric?? Whatever it is, it’s coma-inducing.

The deets:
Address: Kerkstraat 41, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Opening Times: 4pm – midnight.
Fun Fact: The owners of Cafe de Klos have ingeniously bought the bar across the road from their restaurant, which basically acts as a holding pen for customers waiting for tables. Why have your patrons lining the competitor’s wallet when you can nab it for yourself? Clever and yet slightly ruthless. I like it.
Featured Image courtesy of http://www.cityguys.nl

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑